Sharks Finish Fourth at NEWMAC Rowing Championship

WORCESTER, Mass. ? In their second appearance, the Simmons Sharks rowed to a fourth place finish (24 points) at the New England Women?s And Men?s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) rowing championship on a windy Saturday morning on Lake Quinsigamond.


WORCESTER, Mass. – In their second appearance, the Simmons Sharks rowed to a fourth place finish (24 points) at the New England Women's And Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) rowing championship on a windy Saturday morning on Lake Quinsigamond. Wellesley College took home top honor with 38 points, followed by a tie for second between Smith and WPI. Mount Holyoke came in fifth with 20 points, Coast Guard scored six points for sixth place and Clark finished the day with four point. 
Wellelsey's varsity eight crossed the finish line at 6:49.5, more than seven seconds ahead of second place WPI (6:56.8). Simmons was third at 7:05.8 and was followed closely behind by Smith at 7:08.6. The race for fifth was hotly contested with Mount Holyoke (7:16.45) edging out Coast Guard (7:17.4) and Clark (7:20.1).
Smith nosed out Wellesley in the second varsity eight race, finishing in 7:14.3, just ahead of the Blue who crossed the line at 7:16.6. Again Simmons was third, just one second behind Wellesley (7:17.6), while WPI was fourth in 7:20.8. Mount Holyoke (7:46.6) and Coast Guard (7:56.1) wrapped up the field finishing a little less than ten seconds apart.
WPI was victorious in the third varsity eight race, sprinting to a time of 7:40.39, just a shade under four seconds ahead of Wellesley (7:44.0). Simmons (8:03.1), Smith (8:10.8) and Coast Guard (8:27.9) followed in third, fourth and fifth places, respectively.
Simmons sophomore Chelsea Foster (Avon, Conn.) and sophomore Jill Bolduc (Methuen, Mass.) were both named to the NEWMAC All Conference First-Team, while sophomore Jessica Randolph received Second Team All-Conference honors. 
Wellesley's Becca Kimball was named the NEWMAC Rower of the Year and WPI's Jessica Prashaw joined Kimball on the all-conference first-team with her selection as the league's coxswain of the year.
Also on the first team were Meg Roberts and Maggie West of Wellesley, and Eli Boulanger and Maggie Freed of WPI.
Second-team all-conference honorees included Alexandra Niclou and Larissa DiMarco of Clark, Judy Hooymans and Brynna Cooke of Coast Guard, Hannah Arbach and Meghan Ryan of Mount Holyoke, and Emma Carlisle-Reske and Missy Kubik of Smith.