Crew Competes vs. Wellesley at Charles River Basin Rowing Series #4

Crew Competes vs. Wellesley at Charles River Basin Rowing Series #4

BOSTON/CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Simmons College and Wellesley College women's crew squads competed against each other's One Varsity, Two Varsity and Three Varsity Eights this morning on the Charles River as part of the Charles River Basin Rowing Series #4.

The host Sharks fell to Wellesley's top Varsity Eight with the Blue clocking in at 6:49, ahead of Simmons at 7:05. The Sharks shell was powered by junior bow Jill Bolduc (Methuen, Mass.), followed by senior Laura Matt (Fairfax Station, Va.), first year Erin Lilienthal (East Lyme, Conn.), senior Nicole Poirier (Wayland, Mass.), junior Sophie Stone (Greenland, N.H.), first years Ronnie Bennett (Pottstown, Pa.), Phoebe Knox (Scituate, Mass.) and junior Chelsea Foster (Avon, Conn.) in the stroke seat in front of sophomore coxswain Olivia Smiaroski (Northfield, Mass.)

Wellesley's second Varsity Eight outdistanced Simmons by 20 seconds with a time of 7:05 to the Sharks' 7:25. Simmons eight oarswomen were first year bow Karina Bercan (Derry, N.H.), juniors Abi Smith (Brookline, Mass.), Rachel Corning (Ipswich, Mass.), junior Jess Randolph (Concord, N.C.), first years Eleanor Pullan (Northampton, Mass.), Michelle Crosier (Shrewsbury, Mass.), senior Eva Weber (Guilford, Conn.) and first year stroke Erica Bartle (Arlington, Mass.) with first year coxswain Clarice Johnson (Norwell, Mass.) calling out the pace.

The Blue had a pair of crews compete in the third Varsity Eight race with their top entrant finishing at 7:23 ahead of their second shell, which came in at 7:39. Simmons registered a mark of 7:50. The Sharks were fueled by first year bow Sophie Ulyatt (Edgartown, Mass.), first years Wren Tenore (Rocky Hill, Conn.), Kait Fierlit (Hamden, Conn.), Natalie Moore (Colorado Springs, Colo.), junior Fernanda Tapia (Edinburg, Texas), first year Elizabeth Rea-Wilson (Concord, Mass.), Valarie Frost (Beaverton, Ore.) and first year stroke Alexa Frongillo (Franklin, Mass.) with first year coxswain Emily Alpert (Marlboro, Mass.) directing the effort.

The Sharks will compete again on Saturday, April 25 at the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Championships on Lake Quinsigamond in Shrewsbury, Mass.