10 from Crew Named to 2018 NIRC All-Academic Team

10 from Crew Named to 2018 NIRC All-Academic Team

WORCESTER, Mass. – The National Invitational Rowing Championships (NIRC) has announced the recipients of the regatta's postseason awards. Bates College Head Coach, Peter Steenstra, was named NIRC Men's and Women's Coach of the Year by his peers. In addition, 318 student-athletes were honored with NIRC All-Academic accolades, including 10 Simmons rowers. 

For a student-athlete to be recognized to the NIRC All-Academic Team they must have completed one full-year at their institution (first years and first-year transfers are not eligible), maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.35 and be recognized as a varsity letter winner.   

Steenstra earned the Men's and Women's Coach of the Year titles after guiding Bates to a remarkable sweep in every category the Bobcats entered in this year's regatta. In addition, the women's program earned the points title while both the men and women combined to win the overall team points trophy.  

The Sharks contingent of seniors Ronnie Bennett (Pottstown, Pa.), Elsbeth Colson (Everett, Mass.), Kaitlin Fierlit (Hamden, Conn.), juniors Kellie Cann (Needham, Mass.)Nicole Lee (North Reading, Mass.) and Madison Summers (Hudson, N.H.) and sophomores Sabrina Belozerova (Newton, Mass.), Hannah Dike (Leominster, Mass.)Ally Fecteau (Burlington, Conn.)Peizhu Pam Qian (Beijing, China/Developing Virtue Secondary Girls School (Calif.)), and Rebecca Ramsey (Jefferson, Mass.) were all named to the All-Academic Team. Five Simmons rowers posted a cumulative 3.5 GPA or better.

Bennett and Colson earn a spot on the squad for the third straight year in which they have been eligible, while Lee and Summers are both repeat honorees after being chosen for last year's National Invitational Rowing Championship All-Academic Team. 

Simmons Crew finished its season with a second place finish by the First Varsity Eight in the NIRC Third Final on May 11, while the Second Varsity Eight placed fifth in the Third Final.