Najimy Places 13th at Suffolk Invitational to Lead Cross Country

Simmons University runner Alice Najimy Class of 2022

BOSTON, Mass. -- Sophomore Alice Najimy (Pittsfield, Mass.) finished 13th to lead the Simmons University women's cross country team to a 14th-place team finish this afternoon at the Suffolk Invitational at historic Franklin Park in Dorchester, Mass. 

Smith College won the team title with 40 points, while Suffolk University senior Emily Manfra captured the individual crown with a time of 18:39.0 in the five kilometer race. The Sharks scored 321 points on the day. 

Najimy turned in a time of 20:17.8 for an average mile mark of 6:31. Senior Gabby Freeman (Newnan, Ga.) continued to have the best season of her career, shaving 25 seconds off her previous best 5K time with a clip of 22:02.2 to place 72nd for Simmons. She was one of four Sharks to record a personal-record 5K time on the day.

Junior Ellen Malloy (Acton, Mass.) clocked in at 22:50.3 to finish 96th for Simmons with classmate Chloe O'Hara (Westminster, Mass.) just eight seconds behind her at 22:58.0 to shred her personal-best time by 55 seconds and place 98th. First year Julia DiGiacomo (Franklin, Mass.) crossed the finish in 111th place with a time of 23:21.7. Junior Elena Dickey (North Andover, Mass.) was not far behind, clocking in at 23:24.4 to place 113th and establish a new personal-record time by 45 seconds. First year Clare Thompson (Marshfield, Mass.) continued the trend of personal-best times, posting a mark of 23:39.1 to better her previous best by 19 seconds and finish 116th. 

First year Hannah Kearney (Abington, Mass.) turned in her first collegiate 5K time with a mark of 23:53.1 to finish 123rd. Classmate Kaitlyn Kessel (Lincolnville, Maine) registered a time of 25:11.8 to finish 149th, while senior Amelia Franklin (Bath, Maine) posted a mark of 26:22.5 to finish 170th for the Sharks.

Simmons returns to the path on Saturday, November 2 when it heads to Standish, Maine to compete in the Great Northeast Athletic Conference Championship at 1:00 p.m.